LIS Directory

Faculty

Yvonne Chandler

Yvonne Chandler
Associate Professor
Office: Discovery Park E295E
Phone: (940) 565-3777
Email: Yvonne.Chandler@unt.edu

B.A., Clark College
M.S., Atlanta University
Ph.D., University of Michigan

My Home Page

Research & Activities of Interest

Legal Information Services and Research
Internet Resources and Services
Education for Library and Information Sciences

 
Hsia-Ching (Carrie) Chang

Hsia-Ching (Carrie) Chang
Assistant Professor
Office: Discovery Park E295L
Phone: (940) 565-4253
Email: Hsia-Ching.Chang@unt.edu

B.A., National Taipei University, Taiwan
M.A., National Taipei University, Taiwan
M.S., State University of New York, Albany
Ph.D., State University of New York, Albany

UNT Faculty Profile

Research & Activities of Interest

Adoption/Diffusion of Social Media
Business Analytics
Knowledge/Science Mapping
Cloud Computing Security
Human Information Interaction
Information Architecture

 

 
Jiangping Chen

Jiangping Chen
Associate Professor
Office: Discovery Park E297J
Phone: (940) 369-8393
Email: Jiangping.Chen@unt.edu

B.S., Wuhan University, China
M.S., Library of Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Ph.D., Syracuse University

My Home Page

Research & Activities of Interest

Digital Libraries
Multilingual Information Access and Service
Information Systems Design and Analysis

 
Ana Cleveland

Ana Cleveland
Regents Professor
Office: Discovery Park E297E
Phone: (940) 565-3559
Email: Ana.Cleveland@unt.edu

B.S., University of Texas
M.S., Case Western Reserve University
Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University

My Home Page

Research & Activities of Interest

Medical Informatics

 
Donald Cleveland

Donald Cleveland
Professor Emeritus
Office: Discovery Park E292B
Phone: (940) 565-2445
Email: Donald.Cleveland@unt.edu

B.A., Howard Payne College
M.L.S., University of Texas at Austin
M.S., Texas A&M University
Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University

 
Yunfei Du

Yunfei Du
Associate Professor
Office: Discovery Park E296P
Phone: (940) 369-8093
Email: Yunfei.Du@unt.edu

B. S., Anhui Normal University, China
B. A., Nanjing University, China
MLS, Ph.D., University of North Texas

My Home Page

Research & Activities of Interest

Academic Libraries
International Librarianship
Learning Styles
eLearning

 
Larry Enoch

Larry Enoch
Senior Lecturer
Office: Discovery Park E295P
Phone: (940) 565-2760
Email: Lawrence.Enoch@unt.edu

B.S. Kansas State University
M.L.S. North Texas State University
Ph.D. University of North Texas

Research & Activities of Interest

Information Organization
Design Theory
Information Access
Special Libraries

 
Elizabeth Figa

Elizabeth Figa
Associate Professor
Office: Discovery Park E295L
Phone: (940) 565-2187
Email: Elizabeth.Figa@unt.edu

B.S., DePauw University
M.S., Illinois State University
M.S., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

My Home Page

Research & Activities of Interest

Ethnographic Study of Information Retrieval and Information Behavior
Ethnographic Study of Storytelling and the Oral Tradition
Narrative Analysis
Historical Research Methods

 
Martin Halbert

Martin Halbert
Associate Professor, Dean of Libraries
Office: Willis Library Room 222
Phone: 940-565-3025
Email: Martin.Halbert@unt.edu

B.A. Rice University
M.L.I.S., University of Texas, Austin
Ph.D., Emory University

Research & Activities of Interest

Digital Libraries
Digital Preservation
Digital Scholarship
Library Leadership

 
Suliman Hawamdeh

Suliman Hawamdeh
Professor, Department Chair
Office: Discovery Park E292D
Phone: (940) 565-3690
Email: Suliman.Hawamdeh@unt.edu

B.S. Birzeit University
M.L.S. University of Michigan
Ph.D. University of Sheffield

My Home Page

Research & Activities of Interest

Knowledge Management
Library Services and Digital Resource Management
Content, Document and Records Management
Learning Organization and Organizational Learning

 
Janet Hilbun

Janet Hilbun
Assistant Professor
Office: Discovery Park E297G
Phone: (940) 565-3767
Email: Janet.Hilbun@unt.edu

B.A., Texas Tech University
M.Ed., East Texas State University
M.L.S., Texas Womans University
Ph.D., Rutgers University

Research & Activities of Interest

School Libraries, Young Adult Literature

 
Jeonghyun Kim

Jeonghyun "Annie" Kim
Assistant Professor
Office: Discovery Park E297G
Phone: 940.369.5408
Email: Jeonghyun.Kim@unt.edu

Ph.D. Rutgers University
M.A. Ewha Womans University, Korea
B.A. Ewha Womans University, Korea

UNT Faculty Profile

Research & Activities of Interest

Data Curation and Management
Human Information Behavior
Human Computer Interaction
Library & Information Science Education

 
Shawne Miksa

Shawne Miksa
Associate Professor
Office: Discovery Park E297N
Phone: (940) 565-3560
Email: Shawne.Miksa@unt.edu

B.A., University of Central Florida
M.L.S., Florida State University
Ph.D., Florida State University

My Home Page

Research & Activities of Interest

Information Organization, Control, Access and Theory
Classification Research and Theory
Information Retrieval
Bibliometrics
Scholarly Communication

 
William Moen

William Moen
Associate Professor, Associate Dean
Office: Discovery Park B201B
Phone: (940) 565-2473
Email: William.Moen@unt.edu

B.A., Philosophy, University of Montana
M.L.S., Lousiana State University
Ph.D., Information Transfer, Syracuse University

My Home Page

Research & Activities of Interest

Information Organization
Metadata
Digital Repositories
Networked Information Discovery & Retrieval
Information Technology Standards Development & Implementation
Information Policy
Evaluation

 
Brian O'Connor

Brian O'Connor
Professor
Office: Discovery Park E295N
Phone: (940) 565-2347
Email: Brian.O'Connor@unt.edu

A.B. Greek and Latin, Dartmouth College
M.A., Film, Montclair University
M.L.I.S., Library and Information Studies, University of California, Berkeley
Ph.D., University of California

My Home Page

Research & Activities of Interest

Image Document Access
Information Seeking Behavior
Browsing, Representation of Questions and Documents

 
Guillermo Oyarce

Guillermo Oyarce
Associate Professor
Office: Discovery Park E295G
Phone: (940) 565-3564
Email: Guillermo.Oyarce@unt.edu

B.S., Physics, University of North Texas
M.S., Technology and Cognition, University of North Texas
Ph.D., Information Sciences, University of North Texas

Research & Activities of Interest

Information Retrieval Systems
Feature Selection
Human Computer Interaction: Direct Manipulation in IR and Visualization
Cognitive Issues in Distributed Networks and the Digital Library

 
Jodi Philbrick

Jodi Philbrick 
Lecturer
Office: Discovery Park E295J
Phone: (940) 369-5880
Email: Jodi.Philbrick@unt.edu

B.A., University of Houston
M.S.L.S., University of North Texas
Ph.D., University of North Texas

Research & Activities of Interest

Health Informatics
Health Sciences Libraries
Competencies for Information Professionals
Social Media, Mobile Technology, and Information Access

 
Linda Schamber

Linda Schamber
Associate Professor
Office: Discovery Park E290H
Phone: (940) 565-3567
Email: Linda.Schamber@unt.edu

B.S., Education, Ohio State University
M.A., Journalism, Ohio State University
Ph.D., Information Science, Syracuse University

Research & Activities of Interest

Information and Communication Theory
Information Seeking, Evaluation, and Use
Behavior
Information Organization
Qualitative Research Methods

 
Barbara Schultz-Jones

Barbara Schultz-Jones
Associate Professor
Office: Discovery Park E296G
Phone: (940) 369-8081
Email: Barbara.Schultz-Jones@unt.edu

Ph.D., University of North Texas
M.S.L.S., University of North Texas
B.A., University of British Columbia

My Home Page

Research & Activities of Interest

Cataloging
Automation systems
Collaboration networks
Information behavior in context

 
Daniella Smith

Daniella Smith
Assistant Professor
Office: Discovery Park E296E
Phone: 940.565.3569
Email: Daniella.Smith@unt.edu

Ph.D. Florida State University
M.S. Florida State University
B.S. Florida State University

My Home Page

Research & Activities of Interest

Leadership Role of School Librarians
Mentorship in Organizations
Information Seeking Behaviors of Children
Cultures and Transformational Leadership

 
Herman Totten

Herman Totten
Dean
Office: Discovery Park E290C
Phone: (940) 369-8164
Email: Herman.Totten@unt.edu

B.A., Music, Wiley College
M.L.S., University of Oklahoma
Ph.D., Educational Media-Library Science, University of Oklahoma

Research & Activities of Interest

Management of Libraries and Information Agencies
Diversity Issues as related to Management of Library and Information Agencies
Reading Activities of All Age Groups

 
Phil Turner

Phil Turner
Professor Emeritus
Office: Discovery Park E296C
Phone: (940) 565-4462
Email: Philip.Turner@unt.edu

B.S., Mathematics, Boston State College
M.S., Inst. Tech, University of Wisconsin LaCrosse
M.S.L.S., Lib. Science, Texas A&M, Commerce
Ed.D., Inst. Tech., Texas A&M

My Home Page

Research & Activities of Interest

Communications
Special Materials Audio Visual
Telecommunications
Management of Libraries and Information Centers, School Media
Research Methods

 
Xin Wang

Xin Wang
Lecturer
Office: Discovery Park E296L
Phone: (940) 369-5983
Email: Xin.Wang@unt.edu

Ph.D., University of Missouri
M.L.S., University of Missouri
B.A., Shanxi University, China

My Home Page

Research & Activities of Interest

Usability & User Experience Research
Health Informatics
Human Computer Interaction
Image System Design

 
Maurice Wheeler

Ruth West 
Associate Professor
Director, xREZ Lab
Office: Discovery Park E296C
Phone: (940) 565-4462
Email: Ruth.West@unt.edu

B.S., University of California, Los Angeles
M.A., Antioch University, Los Angeles
M.F.A., University of California, Los Angeles

Professional Website

Research & Activities of Interest

Cross-disciplinary art-science research
Experimental visualization and sonification of "big data" and biomedical imaging
Information aesthetics and information design
Immersive systems
Augmented and mixed reality
Mobile and participatory media
Citizen science
Human-computer interaction
User interaction and user experience
STEM to STEAM education

 
Maurice Wheeler

Maurice Wheeler
Associate Professor
Office: Discovery Park E296N
Phone: (940) 369-8191
Email: Maurice.Wheeler@unt.edu

B.Mus., Shorter College
M.Mus., University of Michigan
M.I.L.S., University of Michigan
Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Research & Activities of Interest

Management
Leadership
Organizational Culture
Diversity
Public Libraries

 
Oksana Zavalina

Oksana Zavalina
Assistant Professor
Office: Discovery Park E297L
Phone: 940.565.3776
Email: Oksana.Zavalina@unt.edu

Ph.D. Univ. of Illinois - Champaign
M.L.I.S. Univ. of Illinois - Champaign
B.S. in L.I.S. Kiev State Institute of Culture, Ukraine

My Home Page

Research & Activities of Interest

Information Organization, Access and Retrieval
Digital Libraries and Aggregations
Subject Access
Metadata, Cataloging and Classification
Information Use and Users
Information Systems

 

 

Staff

Brennan Blair

Brennan Blair
IIS PhD Coordinator
Office: Discovery Park E297C
Phone: (940) 891-6795
Email: Brennan.Blair@unt.edu

 
LeAnne Coffey

LeAnne Coffey
Assistant to Department Chair
Office: Discovery Park E292B
Phone: (940) 565-3736
Email: LeAnne.Coffey@unt.edu

 
David Denny

David Denny
Academic Professional II
Office: Discovery Park E298A
Phone: (940) 369-5939
Email: David.Denny@unt.edu

 
Jodi Foster

Jodi Foster
Career Development Specialist
Office: Discovery Park C111 
Phone: (940) 565-3792
Email: Jodi.Foster@unt.edu

 
Nancy Herod

Nancy Herod
Web Institute Coordinator / Program Project Coordinator
Office: Discovery Park E292B
Phone: (940) 565-3854
Email: nancy.herod@unt.edu

 
Nichole Tyler

Nichole Tyler
Career and Data Services Coordinator
Office: Discovery Park E292A
Phone: (940) 369-5937
Email: nichole.tyler@unt.edu

 
Theresa Wallace

Theresa Wallace
HR Coordinator
Office: Discovery Park E298L
Phone: (940) 369-7955
Email: theresa.wallace@unt.edu